There’s really only one time that it is important to have a fishing license. That’s when the two guys in green uniforms approach your boat and ask, “May I see your fishing license.”
Other than that, you can just keep it in your wallet. You did remember your wallet, didn’t you?
If you are fishing and an enforcement agent for the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries asks you that question, you better be ready to say “yes” or be ready to pay up to a maximum fine of $250. That’s especially important this time of year because a lot of fishermen are carrying around licenses in their pockets that are about to expire. The current licenses expire on June 30. With the license expiring in the middle of the year, it’s often hard to remember that. New 2018-2019 Louisiana fishing licenses are now on sale.
The 2017-18 recreational fishing and hunting licenses will expire on June 30, 2018. Licenses for the 2018-19 seasons are available for purchase and are valid until June 30, 2019.Licenses can be purchased in several ways. They may be purchased online at https://la-web.s3licensing.com, at local license vendors or at LDWF offices in Baton Rouge, Opelousas, Lake Charles, Pineville and Monroe. Acceptable methods of payment for purchases made online are Visa, MasterCard, Discover. Earlier this year, the department transitioned to a new license sales system with added conveniences for outdoor enthusiasts. The new system allows license holders to reprint copies of their license during the year at no charge, create login information, and eventually the option to auto-renew.If you need assistance with your online purchase, please contact the 24-hour help desk at 888-362-LDWF (5393).
What’s in your wallet?
or get a lifetime hunting and fishing license… of course, you still can’t leave it at home, but makes it easier to hunt and fish to not bother with the annual expiration date.